Inside AOCS.

Smouse installed as AOCS president



Thomas Smouse

Thomas H. Smouse, manager of lipid science for Ralston Purina's Protein Technologies Division, in St. Louis, officially became president of the American Oil Chemists' Society during the annual meeting held during May in Chicago.

Smouse had been elected vice-president a year ago and, under AOCS by-laws, was unopposed on the ballots distributed during February and counted in April. A total of 3,493 ballots were mailed, with 1,229 returned in time to be counted on April 8.

Nicholas Pelick, president of Supelco Inc., was elected vice-president. Joyce Beare-Rogers, of Health and Welfare, Canada, was elected to a second, nonconsecutive term as secretary. William H. Tallent, administrator of the eastern regional for the USDA Agricultural Research Service, was reelected treasurer.

Two incumbent members-at-large of the Governing Board were reelected. They are Timothy Mounts of the USDA Northern Regional Research Center, and Robert Hastert of Harshaw Chemicals. Arnold Gavin was elected to the third member-at-large post. Gavin served as a member-at-large of the board in 1981-82.

R.G. Krishnamurthy, who was a candidate for vice-president on this year's ballot, will serve as an ex-officio member of the Governing Board during the coming year.

Smouse succeeds Karl T. Zilch, research director at Emery Industries, as AOCS President. He will preside at the organization's 75th anniversary meeting next April in Dallas, Texas.



Nicholas Pelick



Joyce Beare-Rogers



William Tallent



Timothy Mounts



Arnold Gavin



Robert Hastert